We are halfway there! {Hence the celebratory sequins.} This has been the craziest week yet! First of all, to be halfway done with this pregnancy is just blowing my mind. Second of all, well… I feel like this requires a full story.
So, it’s Tuesday morning and I’ve been in the waiting room of Dr. Lowe’s office for an hour. Bobby is still out of town, so my mom is there with me. My stomach is growling because I missed my mid-morning snack. (Yes, I eat something in between breakfast and lunch every day. Don’t judge. ;) ) Anyhow, they finally call my name and we head back to our tiny room with the ultrasound tech. She dumps about a gallon of that goo on my belly and gets to work measuring all of the baby’s parts. She says “Do you know what you’re having?” And I say “I’m pretty sure it’s a boy.” And she goes on measuring and clicking buttons and printing pictures. We’re looking at the cute profile at this point and the baby has their hands up like you do when you ride a rollercoaster. So I say “Awwww, look how cute he is. He has his hands up. If he is, in fact, a boy.” I say this because I want to ensure that this ultrasound tech takes a look down below. I never did get a solid answer from my regular doctor. I’ve just been basing all of my thoughts on things I’ve read on the internet and things that a million women who have been pregnant before me have said about guessing the gender early. The tech says “Who told you that you were having a boy?” and I say “Well, no one really.” And just as I begin to feel a bit silly for being so sure that I knew… she moves the wand over to the sweet spot and I have my answer. “Where is the peen?” I think to myself. I spent a good amount of time on Google beforehand - researching what it would look like if the baby were a girl vs. a boy. And I knew immediately when I saw it.
“It’s not a boy!” says the tech. “It’s a girl!!”
“It’s not a boy!” says the tech. “It’s a girl!!”
My mom and I burst into a mix of giggles and tears. Holy cannoli… a baby girl! At this point I become a complete jabber monkey. My head is spinning with this utterly shocking and utterly exhilarating news. So I just talk and talk and talk, which is so unlike me. I don’t even remember what I was saying. But I guess I was just trying to make sense of being completely wrong for the entire first half of my pregnancy. HA! I feel like such a goof ball.
And it’s only 12:30pm!
My agenda for the rest of the day included:
Returning to work where everyone was waiting with baited breath for the news
Taking back an entire baby boy’s wardrobe worth of clothes to Baby Gap
And, oh yea, telling my HUSBAND!
He had been traveling home from Costa Rica all day and would finally be getting home just shy of midnight. I wanted to surprise him in person rather than just tell him over the phone as soon as his cell regained service. So after work I got some pink balloons and our baby girl’s first dress and set it all up in her bedroom (which needs some major tweaks because it was definitely heading in a boy-ish direction).
![]() |
| Lia helped, of course |
Bobby was so surprised!!




No comments:
Post a Comment